4 Upcoming Posts on Brexit: The Referendum Day Review

It has been a long time since I posted on this blog. Despite my best wishes, I keep getting busy with real work, so my quarterly, monthly and weekly post best hopes have all been in vain. Hopefully there’s still the topical opportunity to write about interesting events. The British Referendum taking place today is one such event.

Unsurprisingly, I am in favour of the UK staying in the EU as you’d know if you had the misfortune of having me as your friend on Facebook, where I would have bombarded you with posts about the campaign during the last weeks. But if you’ve had a look around this website, you might have come across a complain or two about Cameron or someone else from the British establishment saying something I found astonishingly dumb. The fact that I am now on the same argument as Cameron leaves me somewhat confused. I don’t know whether to be happy that he’s gone to the Remain side or whether to be irritated that it took him so long and in that in the process he made so much damage.Anyway, I’ve been thinking about what I want to write because I can’t spend a lot of time on this, so I’ve decided I want to write 4 posts:

I’ve started writing these over the last couple of weeks whenever I’ve had a little bit of time. The idea for the first two posts is that of a time capsule. I want to know who thought what and what motivated the other side. Because one way or the other people have made predictions; some more precise than others. And the beauty of predictions is that you can check them after the fact and assess who was right and who wasn’t, which the childish “I told you so” part of me likes.

The third post is still in this sort of “neener neener” vein. I’m in my 30s now and I’m getting to the point where I realise that I’m not half bad at assessing macroeconomic policies, conditions and their consequences (although admittedly my record on predicting monetary policy decisions is not stellar…):

  • I figured the Euro was not going to collapse.
  • I figured that QE would not trigger hyper-inflation, be it in the USA, the EZ, the UK or Japan.
  • I figured Brazil was overpriced
  • I figured China’s crisis.

But above all things, I’ve figured out this: It doesn’t matter whether you are right or wrong. If there’s uncertainty then there are always going to be people doing what appears blatantly stupid. You can convince everybody. More importantly, I have not made the life-style choices that allow me to go around Europe holding townhall discussion meetings to inform and debate everyone everywhere. So all I’m left with is the “neener neener” “I told you so” cynicism, which makes me sound  bitter. And I’ve realised that that sucks.

So from now onward I’m going to pursue the only constructive alternative left in this type of situation. I’m going to learn how to bet against these incredibly bad choices and I’m going to try to make some money out of demagoguery and stupidity. I’ll probably come up with some appropriate forum on which to do this in general, as it is unlikely to be a Europe-centric topic of conversation. Nevertheless, for now that’s what I’ll do and I’ll start by doing it here, so that’s what that third post is all about.

There’s no hurry here and I want to get this stuff right, so I’ll probably publish it next Monday. Until then, enjoy the referendum coverage.

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER

UNLESS STATED OTHERWISE, NO COMMENT, POST, TWEET OR REPORT FROM THIS OR ANY OTHER OF MY WEBSITES CONSTITUTES AN INVESTMENT RECOMMENDATION. I AM NOT (AS OF 23/06/2016) LICENSED IN ANY JURISDICTION, OR BY ANY REGULATORY AUTHORITY, TO PROVIDE INVESTMENT ADVICE.

IF ANY EXPLICIT INVESTMENT STRATEGY IS DISCUSSED ON THIS OR ANY OTHER OF MY WEBSITES, IT IS NOT AN ENDORSEMENT OR RECOMMENDATION OF THAT OR ANY OTHER INVESTMENT STRATEGY. I DO NOT ACCEPT LIABILITY FOR ANY LOSS INCURRED DUE TO FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS MADE BASED ON INFORMATION TAKEN FROM THIS WEBSITE. EVEN IF I SAY I HAVE TRIED OR SUCCEEDED IN IMPLEMENT AN INVESTMENT STRATEGY, YOU SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THIS IS STILL NOT A RECOMMENDATION THAT OTHERS DO SO TOO. IF INDEED SUCH IS THE CASE, I WILL DO THAT INVESTMENT MINDFUL OF THE RISKS THAT I AM TAKING AND OF THE POSSIBILITY THAT I MAY NOT MAKE THE RETURN I HOPE FOR.

I am not a Registered Investment Advisor, Broker/Dealer, Financial Analyst, Financial Bank, Securities Broker or Financial Planner. THE INFORMATION ON THIS OR ANY OTHER OF MY WEBSITES IS PROVIDED FOR INFORMATION PURPOSES ONLY. The information is not intended to be and DOES NOT CONSTITUTE FINANCIAL ADVICE or any other advice, is general in nature and not specific to you. BEFORE USING THE INFORMATION TO MAKE AN INVESTMENT DECISION, YOU SHOULD SEEK THE ADVICE OF A QUALIFIED AND REGISTERED SECURITIES PROFESSIONAL AND UNDERTAKE YOUR OWN DUE DILIGENCE. None of the information this or any other website of mine is intended as investment advice, as an offer or solicitation of an offer to buy or sell, or as a recommendation, endorsement, or sponsorship of any security, Company, or fund. I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY INVESTMENT DECISION MADE BY A THIRD PARTY, INCLUDING YOURSELF. You are responsible for your own investment research and investment decisions.

No representation is being made that any account, product, or strategy will or is likely to achieve profits, losses, or results similar to those discussed, if any. INVESTING IN FINANCIAL MARKETS IS INTRINSICALLY RISKY AND INVESTMENT STRATEGY OUTCOMES ARE INTRINSICALLY UNCERTAIN. Regardless of the use of industry jargon like risk-free rate, no asset is actually completely risk free and may always default, regardless of the prevailing conditions and paradigms. Investors should BE AWARE THAT INVESTMENTS MAY LOOSE VALUE LEADING THEM TO LOOSE MONEY.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

